Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Register
Awards Gala

2020 Achievement Awards

What better way to acknowledge a mentor, colleague or staff member than by recognizing their leadership. The WCA has four distinguished awards for outstanding service and dedication for which nominations are accepted.

To Nominate a Candidate:

Send an email to John Murray at with a paragraph outlining why the candidate is deserving of an award, as well as the preferred award category. Deadline for nomination is August 14, 2020.

Lifetime Achievement Award - The WCA Lifetime Achievement Award was created to recognize chiropractors that have made continuous contributions to the chiropractic profession throughout their careers. Because the award reflects a lifetime of involvement, it is meant to honor a chiropractor with at least 25 years of professional experience.

Chiropractor of the Year - The Chiropractor of the Year recognizes recent contributions to the chiropractic profession on the local, state or national levels, as well as leadership in the community, church and civic functions. The nomination will highlight achievements generally accomplished over the last several years.

Nels Bakke Award - The Nels Bakke Award honors chiropractors that have been in practice for less than five years. It recognizes the contributions of younger practitioners who have equally dedicated themselves to serving the profession and their community.

Chiropractic Technician of the Year - The Chiropractic Technician of the Year award is given to an individual whose dedication to chiropractic patients is reflected in the quality of their professional work as well as volunteer work in their community.

When Are Awards Announced?

The WCA Board of Directors selects the winner in each category. Awards will be announced at the WCA Awards Gala at the WCA Fall Convention.

2019 WCA Awards Gala 

The Wisconsin Chiropractic Association (WCA) is pleased to announce the winners of our 2019 Awards Gala, a celebration spotlighting standout individuals within the chiropractic profession:

  • 2019 Lifetime Achievement Award - Steven G. Yeomans
  • 2019 Chiropractor of the Year - Jeffrey A. King
  • 2019 Nels Bakke Award Winner  (Young Practitioner) - Michael Blodgett
  • 2019 Chiropractic Technician of the Year - Heidi Gafkjen
  • 2019 WCA/LSM Dr. Ken Luedtke Memorial Scholarship - Amanda Mathwig 

“On behalf of the WCA Board of Directors, WCA staff and all of our members, I congratulate our worthy 2019 award winners and thank them for their dedication to the chiropractic profession.” -WCA Executive Director John Murray.


2019 Award Recipients:


Steven G. Yeomans, DC graduated cum laude from National College of Chiropractic and began practice in 1979, joining his father as a 3rd generation chiropractor. He has been lecturing abroad and throughout the US and Canada since 1984. His commitment to chiropractic is evident in his textbook, The Clinical Application of Outcomes Assessment, released in 2000. Dr. Yeomans practices in Ripon and is very dedicated to his community. He recently received the Ripon Area School District Distinguished Alumni Award and has played the saxophone with Ripon College Jazz Ensemble since the 1980’s. He currently serves on the board and is past president of the Thrasher Opera House in Green Lake. He practices at Yeomans-Edinger Chiropractic in Ripon.


Jeffrey A. King, DC has been a leader in chiropractic since completing his Doctor of Chiropractic and Master’s Degree from Logan College. Dr. King practiced in the Madison area for several years before joining the Medical College of Wisconsin in Milwaukee as an Assistant Professor. Since joining MCW, Dr. King has done grant-funded research in cervical spine pain in the mTBI/concussion population while practicing full time in their integrated SpineCare Center. Last year, he was promoted to Director of Chiropractic at the Medical College of Wisconsin and SpineCare. Dr. King was appointed to the Wisconsin Chiropractic Examining Board (CEB) by Governor Scott Walker and reappointed by Governor Tony Evers. His colleagues on the CEB recently elected him Chair.


Michael Blodgett, DC is very involved in professional and community events in both the Madison and Waunakee area. He proudly represents Forward Madison FC Soccer as Team Chiropractor, offering his services to the players on a weekly basis. He also volunteers for Relay for Life, is a Guest Speaker on Wellness, and serves as Team Sponsor for the Waunakee Little League. Dr. Blodgett works for LSM Chiropractic in Waunakee, Wisconsin.



Heidi Gafkjen, CT has been with Chiropractic Center of Monroe for 26 years. Her dedicated work ethic, constant love for patients and chiropractic philosophy have led her to the highest level of  professional integrity. She always performs above and beyond and is an inspiration to all that she cares for. Heidi also runs an organic farm involving cattle, chickens, bees and pets.




LSM Scholarship Recipient, Amanda Mathwig truly shows a positive image of the chiropractic profession. Not only is she a full time student at Logan University, she interns at Institutio De Medicina Deportiva, performs concussion exams at Cheer Gym, is Secretary and Vice President of Lambda Kappa Chi, gives tours for Logan’s Cadaver Lab, is President of the Launch Club, and a member of WCA and ACA. Amanda resides in Lodi, Wisconsin.